Fishing scams

Verification of identity from Apple

Subject: Verification of identity
Date:   2018-04-23
To:   your@email.address
X-PHP-Script: for
X-PHP-Originating-Script:   1001:mail111.php
X-Source-Args:   /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/bin/php-cgi /home/gagsar/public_html/mail111.php
X-Source-Dir:   gagsar.safsa:/public_html
X-Mailer:   PHP/5.6.35
X-Get-Message-Sender-Via: authenticated_id: gagsar/only user confirmed/virtual account not confirmed
X-Mailer:   PHP/5.6.35

Apple Store Phishing Email

Scammer Alert

Scam alert! The E-mail above is a SCAM. It’s a Phishing scam, pretending to be from the Apple Store. Trying to get your Apple account-details by luring you to a fake Apple website. The message is all fake. The real Apple did NOT send this. Be warned!

If you’ve more information and/or received this message too please comment below. Describe how you got it (as an e-mail or comment?, the message etc), thanks in advance! Then mark it as SPAM (if possible) and/or DELETE it.

Analysing this phishing mail

The message in text:

Reversed Customer,

account has been suspended temporarily in order to use Apple services please update your account information so that we can fully verify the account, the account has been suspended the account for 24 hours, to activate the account click on the update link .

Click here to activate the account

Pending Verification will be credited into your account within 24 to 48 hours after your approval

Apple values your business and is committed to keeping your accounts and personal information safe
To learn how we protect Security Center

Thank you,

Copyright © 2017 Apple Inc. All rights reserved.

The email links have been disabled for your safety, but they lead to the following webpages: [Click here to activate the account] [Security center]

The latter doesn’t do much but the first leads to a redirect script. It’s hosted on owned by the hosting-provider OVH SAS (AS16276). It redirects to:!&page=signin

Now we get the following fake Apple website:

Fake Apple Store phishing site

The site may look real until you notice (besides the web-address not being "") none of the links actually work and the site isn’t protected with SSL encryption (https: instead of http:).

After entering fake account-details we’ll see a spinning wheel for a few seconds and then the same screen but the login-form is gone… That’s it. They have stored your account details and don’t bother redirecting you anywhere.

The domainname ‘’ is hosted on ( by a German hosting company called Contabo GmbH. The domain is registered at located in the Bahamas. It offers free domain privacy service which is probably the reason why the scammers registered this domainname here.

Registry Domain ID: 2255858609_DOMAIN_COM-VRSN
Registrar WHOIS Server:
Registrar URL:
Updated Date: 2018-04-23T11:59:49Z
Creation Date: 2018-04-23T11:59:48Z
Registry Expiry Date: 2019-04-23T11:59:48Z
Registrar: Internet Domain Service BS Corp
Registrar IANA ID: 2487
Registrar Abuse Contact Email:
Registrar Abuse Contact Phone:
Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited
Name Server: NS1.CONTABO.NET
Name Server: NS2.CONTABO.NET
Name Server: NS3.CONTABO.NET
DNSSEC: unsigned
URL of the ICANN Whois Inaccuracy Complaint Form:

Even worse.. the whois-service referred to doesn’t work so we can’t find any further details about the registrant. Probably enough to submit a whois inaccuracy complaint to ICANN!

Post Author: Webmaster

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *